Board of Directors

About the Board

The Board of Directors of the SHRM-Memphis Chapter provides leadership for the chapter's activities, legal and financial responsibilities, as well as our affiliation compliance to the SHRM National organization.

The board sets goals and carries out specific plans for the Memphis chapter, while operating responsibly within our fiscal budget. Of our responsibilities, it is the goal of our chapter board to ensure we provide quality programming that benefits the professional development needs of our members. The board is designed to serve the HR Professionals of Memphis, to advance the HR Profession in Memphis.

General Responsibilities

Thank you for your interest in becoming involved in your local SHRM chapter. Each Board position has a specific position description. However, here are some general requirements that should be considered before deciding to run for office.

  • Be an active Board member. This includes attending chapter meetings and board meetings. It also includes being prepared for Board meetings, asking critical questions, and helping the Board come to agreement in making decisions that affect chapter membership.

  • Know or build your knowledge about your chapter, SHRM, and its governing bylaws. Learn about SHRM and its role with your chapter. The SHRM Leaders Guide is available online in the Volunteer Leaders’ Resource Center (VLRC) to assist you.

  • Stay informed of trends in the field of human resources and timely issues affecting your chapter.

  • Abstain from activities that may appear to create a conflict of interest. Follow the SHRM Code of Ethical and Professional Standards in Human Resource Management.

  • Be willing to provide contacts and resources to help your chapter grow and develop as an organization.

  • Maintain confidentiality, as appropriate, of chapter Board issues and membership data.

  • Be a chapter member in good standing. 

Brigette B Wilson

President

president@shrm-memphis.org

David Dufour

President-Elect

president-elect@shrm-memphis.org

Verlinda J Henning, SPHR, SHRM-SCP

Past President

pastpresident@shrm-memphis.org

Tyler Stegall

Co-VP of Communications

vpcommunications@shrm-memphis.org

Sonja S Walton, MA-HRM, TAPM

Co-VP of Communications

vpcommunications@shrm-memphis.org

Chris Van Hekken

Co-VP of Hospitality

hospitality@shrm-memphis.org

Beverly Washington

Co-VP of Hospitality

hospitality@shrm-memphis.org

Foluke Houston

VP of Membership

membership@shrm-memphis.org

Dale Harris

Co-VP of Programs

programs@shrm-memphis.org

Dr. Kathy Tuberville

Co-VP of Programs

programs@shrm-memphis.org

Brad Federman

VP of Workforce Development

workforcedev@shrm-memphis.org

Charlotte M Brown

Secretary

secretary@shrm-memphis.org

David Estel

Treasurer

treasurer@shrm-memphis.org

Daniel Tate

College Relations Chair

collegerelations@shrm-memphis.org

Christine Essary

Diversity & Inclusion Co-Chair

cessary@transnetyx.com

Jenna Fielding Mednikow

Diversity & Inclusion Co-Chair

jrflding@gmail.com

Beth Hisaw

Hospitality Chair

vendorrelations@shrm-memphis.org

Cindy Ettingoff

Legal Conference Co-Chair

cettingo@gmail.com

Jeff Weintraub

Legal Conference Co-Chair

jweintraub@fisherphillips.com

Catrenia Evans

Membership Chair

membership@shrm-memphis.org

Sharon O'Brien

Member Engagement Chair 

membership@shrm-memphis.org

Patricia A. Myers

Workforce Development Chair

patricia.myers@ajcmemphis.com