Board of Directors

About the Board

The Board of Directors of the SHRM-Memphis Chapter provides leadership for the chapter's activities, legal and financial responsibilities, as well as our affiliation compliance to the SHRM National organization.

The board sets goals and carries out specific plans for the Memphis chapter, while operating responsibly within our fiscal budget. Of our responsibilities, it is the goal of our chapter board to ensure we provide quality programming that benefits the professional development needs of our members. The board is designed to serve the HR Professionals of Memphis, to advance the HR Profession in Memphis.

General Responsibilities

Thank you for your interest in becoming involved in your local SHRM chapter. Each Board position has a specific position description. However, here are some general requirements that should be considered before deciding to run for office.

  • Be an active Board member. This includes attending chapter meetings and board meetings. It also includes being prepared for Board meetings, asking critical questions, and helping the Board come to agreement in making decisions that affect chapter membership.

  • Know or build your knowledge about your chapter, SHRM, and its governing bylaws. Learn about SHRM and its role with your chapter. The SHRM Leaders Guide is available online in the Volunteer Leaders’ Resource Center (VLRC) to assist you.

  • Stay informed of trends in the field of human resources and timely issues affecting your chapter.

  • Abstain from activities that may appear to create a conflict of interest. Follow the SHRM Code of Ethical and Professional Standards in Human Resource Management.

  • Be willing to provide contacts and resources to help your chapter grow and develop as an organization.

  • Maintain confidentiality, as appropriate, of chapter Board issues and membership data.

  • Be a chapter member in good standing. 

Pamela Floyd

Ambassador Chair

pamelafloyd@comfort-keepers.com

Cerita Butler

Co-Chair - Diversity & Inclusion

butlercg@scsk12.org

Chris Van Hekken

VP Hospitality

cvanhekken@summerfield.net

Beverly Washington

VP Hospitality

beverly.washington@mlh.org

Dennis T Stegall

College Relations Chair

tyler.stegall@memphistn.gov

David Dufour

Community Outreach Chair

ddufour@thebank1905.com

Patricia A. Myers

Diversity and Inclusion VP

patricia.myers@ajcmemphis.com

Dale Harris

Head of Programs VP

HARRIDAL525@GMAIL.COM

Dr. Kathy Tuberville

Head of Programs VP

ktbrvlle@memphis.edu

Cindy Ettingoff

Legal Conference Co-Chair

cettingo@gmail.com

Jeff Weintraub

Legal Conference Co-Chair

jweintraub@fisherphillips.com

Sharon O'Brien

Member Engagement Chair 

sharono@ngpinc.com

Catrenia Evans

Membership Chair

catreniae@ngpinc.com

Randy S Lyles

Membership VP

hr@ngpinc.com

Verlinda J Henning, SPHR, SHRM-SCP

President

faithpeoplememphis@gmail.com

Brigette B Wilson

President-Elect

brigetteshrmmemphis@gmail.com

Trina Brown Hyman

Professional Development Chair

thyman@memphishabitat.com

Kati Thomas Steele

Programs Chair Associate

kthomas@iaccompanies.com

Jennifer Bernero, Human Capital Management Consultant

Secretary

jennifer.bernero@cbiz.com

David Estel

Treasurer

destel@datafacts.com

Beth Hisaw

Vendor Relations Co - Chair

bhisaw@psgi.net

Robyn Jonston

Workforce Development VP

robynrjonston@gmail.com

Sonja Walton

Workforce Development Chair

walton.sonja@jobcorps.org